Book Review: How To Be a Bawse by Lilly Singh

images (4)How To Be a Bawse: A Guide to Conquering Life By: Lilly Singh

 Publisher: Random House
 Release Date: 2017

The Short Summary:

Youtube star’s motivational rules for living life.

The Summary (via Goodreads):

From actress, comedian, and YouTube sensation Lilly Singh (aka ||Superwoman||) comes the definitive guide to being a bawse—a person who exudes confidence, reaches goals, gets hurt efficiently, and smiles genuinely because they’ve fought through it all and made it out the other side. 

Told in her hilarious, bold voice that’s inspired over nine million fans, and using stories from her own life to illustrate her message, Lilly proves that there are no shortcuts to success. 

WARNING: This book does not include hopeful thoughts, lucky charms, and cute quotes. That’s because success, happiness, and everything else you want in life needs to be fought for—not wished for. In Lilly’s world, there are no escalators, only stairs. Get ready to climb.

Review:

stand-3.5stars

 Let me put out a disclaimer first: I love Lilly Singh. ||Superwoman|| is one of my favorite YouTube personalities and I absolutely adore her work. That being said, I detest self help books. Hate is a strong word, but I really, really, really don’t like them. So I put in a lot of thought before picking this one up. I basically decided to give this a shot because I love Lilly’s style and knew that any book written by her would be fun to read.

The kids’ nap-time resulted in me sitting down in peace to read this and guzzle down chocolate chip cookies.

I’ll be honest, the writing style is great. You can actually hear her talking while you read. Pair that with the vibrant photos of Lilly that accompany the chapters, and the unique numbering style of the text itself, this book sure does have a lot of personality.

BUT…

There isn’t much meat in it. The advice is pretty much stuff you have heard all your life. It is motivational, yes, but cliched too. Lilly says we can take this advice from her because she has been through depression and ‘gets it’. Okay. Fair enough. But tell us more about you, Lilly. There are sections in the book titled ‘Out of the Blue’, which are basically her own story, but they are so short and left me hankering for more of her personal back story.

This book made me smile a lot of times, the advice she gives is pretty honest and would help people, maybe. It just wasn’t something for me. The chapters are too short. As soon as I would start getting into it, The End. Why, Lilly, Why? A little more length to tie the knot would have been great!

This book is more geared towards teenagers and I sort of felt a little too old reading some parts (I am not old, nope) and it has a lot of things that the youth does need to hear these days. I liked it but did not love it. Probably will not give it a second read, but it was enjoyable nonetheless.

3 and half stars for being a lovely mix of humor, sass, wisdom, and common sense.

Leave a Reply

