The Deal With Death

Death came calling yesterday.

We sat in the parlor, sipping

tea. Even though I like coffee,

you don’t refuse Death when

he asks for tea. Four spoons sugar, please.

I had heard he liked things sickly sweet.

 

I had what was his, he wanted it back

Upon my life, I couldn’t refuse.

You don’t say no when Death asks for something.

I had heard there was never a deal he lost.

 

He set out a pack

of cards, all hearts and diamonds,

no black in sight.

“Queens, you win.

Joker, I lose.

Kings, I win.

Jacks, you lose.”

 

I lost.

 

 

 

9 Replies to “The Deal With Death”

  1. Death is only the beginning …..
    But sometime I fear the journey after it….How it would be…? How long it would take…? what the hell am I suppose to deal with there…?
    Or its the end of everything………!!

    I like what you wrote…..

  2. I loved it till the end but this part got my attention the most! I read it again and again.
    He set out a pack
    of cards, all hearts and diamonds,
    no black in sight.
    “Queens, you win.
    Joker, I lose.
    Kings, I win.
    Jacks, you lose.”

    I lost.

Leave a Reply

