Our Song (Him and I #4)

We still haven’t found our song.

We have songs that we listen to together, lyrics we love, tunes we dance to when the lights are out. But we don’t have a song.

Listening to the song we used to sing

In the car, do you remember

Butterfly, Early Summer

It’s playing on repeat, Just like when we would meet

Like when we would meet

Cause I was born to tell you I love you

And I am torn to do what I have to, to make you mine

Stay with me tonight

I’ve wanted one since the time we got engaged. No less than 5 summers have passed since then. Music comes and goes. It’s sweet for a moment, forgotten the next.

I go around asking people if they’ve found theirs. I’m afraid they’ll take up all the beautiful songs that I love, and we’ll be left with a choice between cheesy and repeated. With a love like ours, it’s not fair.

Will it stay

The love you feel for me

Will you say

That you will be by my side

To see me through

Until my life is through

Well in my mind

We can conquer the world

He says our song will just happen one day. That I don’t have to go around looking for it. It’s not a freed parrot, our song will be the cat that can always find her home no matter what. And we’ll never forget it it. It will be stuck on repeat like the bad cassette in our tape recorder.

I can’t take my mind off of you

I can’t take my mind off you

I can’t take my mind off of you

I can’t take my mind off you

I can’t take my mind off you

I can’t take my mind…

My mind…my mind…

3 Replies to “Our Song (Him and I #4)”

Leave a Reply

