Because Introverts Have Power Too

I’m not a fan of non-fiction works, but it doesn’t mean that I don’t read them. I’ve read a decent amount of biographies. memoirs, reportage, self-help and history books but only a few have made an impact.

And now I’ve come across Quiet: The Power of Introverts In A World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. I’m not done with it yet but I can already tell I’m going to love this book.

I’ve taken countless psychology tests in my life. Online and in real life, through quizzes and weird drawing tests and some other lengthy procedures that had me going yes and no for a long list of questions. Every result tells me I’m an introvert. People tell me I’m not. I don’t agree with the people so I say I’m an introvert.

Because I’d rather read than go out with you

I’d rather write than talk

I don’t wish 

for that limelight to be mine

I don’t want you

to focus your attention on me.

I’d rather sit quiet and listen to you

than tell you what goes around in my mind.

If you let me be,

I’ll sit alone for hours.

It’s what I like.

It’s what I am like.

 

Leave a Reply

