Writing, Music and Sudden Rememberance

There’s the distinct clacking of the keys

as Hareem screams out at Saad

though all in my mind.

I’m writing, but I am her

at that moment.

Red faced, angry, unable to explain

her stance, her reasons,

her many emotions that border on love,

because there’s no air

if he isn’t there. But how is he to know.

 

I am her, so this

is my life. And he is you

and I’m screaming and shouting,

fingers balled into fists,

eyes shining with a million 

wants and needs; wet diamonds

hardened, sharpened, pointed

aimed at you, aimed at him.

 

The music is gone,

there’s just the clickety-clack of my long

fingernails hitting the keyboard

and I

am no longer her.

 

(Yes, I was writing a pretty intense scene featuring my two lead characters. Then this happened.)

10 Replies to “Writing, Music and Sudden Rememberance”

  1. And I’m glad that it happened. Because this is good.
    Especially:
    Red faced, angry, unable to explain

    her stance, her reasons,

    her many emotions that border on love,

    because there’s no air

    if he isn’t there. But how is he to know.

      1. Okay…
        I have Taylor Swift’s Sad, Beautiful Tragic or Carrie Underwood’s Before He Cheats all over me.
        Sometimes even KC’s Never again…

  2. Dang! That was brilliant. You’re writing a novel something? I loved how you’re conscious when you’re her and when you’re not. Keep it up, amazing womaaaan!

Leave a Reply

